Sometimes ‘Wasted’ is Not the Appropriate Word

I was having this urge to right these thoughts down before… or maybe I already did, but I still want to talk about this “finding your dream job on the right company” thing… just because I watched The Devil Wears Prada.

I had been consistently saying these to my friends, that if you are not happy with your job, then quit.  It’s not something bad.  Some say that quitting is not the solution, after all the hardships that you’ve conquered, it’s not right to just quit in the end.

Well, it’s true that quitting is not the solution… but let me rephrase it for you.  Quitting alone is not a solution.  You need to have a back-up plan.  You have to be ready to move out and start a new career with a different company.  You don’t just quit.

Remember Andy, Anne Hathaway’s character in The Devil Wears Prada… her reason for staying with Miranda is because she was hoping to get a job as a reporter or writer somewhere else someday.  She was putting a brave facade in front of her just so she could keep the job.  But all she ever had was that job… everything else was falling apart.

When Miranda scolded Andy, she rants her frustrations over Nigel.  Guess what Nigel told her… “so quit.”

Here’s the dialog:

Nigel: I can get another girl to take your job in five minutes… one who really wants it.

Andy: No, I don’t want to quit. That’s not fair. But, I, you know, I’m just saying that I would just like a little credit… for the fact that I’m killing myself trying.

Nigel: Andy, be serious. You are not trying. You are whining.

That’s what happens when you are trying so hard for a job that you don’t like.  You may think you are killing yourself trying to make things work… but you’re not.  Because deep down, you know this is not your calling.  So you end up doing things half-heartedly… unintentionally.

So now what?  Are you saying that staying with your unappreciative job is a wasted time?  Not exactly.

For example, you have a quiz tomorrow.  You’ve already studied your notes after school and you were an attentive student in class.  But just to make sure, you used your extra time just to study again so you would get perfect on the test.  It’s true that the time you used to study is not a wasted time.  Well in fact, it’s a good foundation for tomorrow’s exam.  But you could’ve just used that extra time to celebrate your little brother’s birthday.  ‘Cause his birthday just comes once a year.  Sometimes ‘wasted’ is not the appropriate word… most of the time, it should be interpreted as unorganized priorities.

You only have one life, be happy with it.  Don’t ruin yourself with your job, just because you wanted to be happy someday… well, when will that someday be?  What if you die tomorrow and you realize that everything you’ve been establishing within those years of hardships are just hatreds from those you love the most… because you’ve neglected them?  Would you want that?

Sort out your priorities.  Are you okay with just working with a low salary company with a super mad boss just so you can have a good experience when you go to a better company someday?  So when will that someday be?  Is it enough that you can’t even sleep at night because stress hunts you down even under your pillow?

There’s a lot of good opportunities out there.  You just have to search properly.  You don’t have to get stuck with something you’re not comfortable with.  You shouldn’t be staying with a job that would slowly kill you because of abusing your health.

Your friends and family love you.  Learn to love yourself as well.  You’ve got the talent, you’ve got the initiative, you have the will to learn.  Use it with the right people.  Wake up!

If the reason you’re staying with your company is because it’s the job that everyone likes.  Everyone likes to be you.  Well then, think again… after knowing the truth… do you still want to be there?  And don’t you just blame every wrong thing onto somebody else.  Don’t you say you have no choice.  You always have a choice… you just chose to be unhappy.  Here’s a good preview for that:

Miranda: I never thought I would say this, Andrea, but I really, I see a great deal of myself in you. You can see beyond what people want, and what they need and you can choose for yourself.

Andy: I don’t think I’m like that. I couldn’t do what you did to Nigel, Miranda. I couldn’t do something like that.

Miranda: You already did. To Emily.

Andy: That’s not what I… no, that was different. I didn’t have a choice.

Miranda: No, no, you chose. You chose to get ahead. You want this life. Those choices are necessary.

Andy: But what if this isn’t what I want? I mean what if I don’t wanna live the way you live?

Miranda: Oh, don’t be ridiculous. Andrea. Everybody wants this. Everybody wants to be us.

Well, it’s kinda off if you didn’t watch the movie, so I recommend you watch it before you look for your job.  It would be a big help for your decisions just in case you were to enter Andy’s world.

Anyway, the best part of the movie is when Andy finally chose to find her dream job.

Andy: Learned a lot. In the end though, I kind of screwed it up.

Editor: I called over there for a reference, left word with some snooty girl. Next thing you know, I got a fax from Miranda Priestly herself… saying that of all the assistants she’s ever had… you were, by far, her biggest disappointment. And, if I don’t hire you, I am an idiot. You must have done something right.

So that’s it.  I just hope you find a good job.  It’s not bad for a first timer to suddenly fall on a pit of darkness.  You just need to get back up and decide a new path to take.  After sometime, that experience would just only be something you’d laugh about.

One thought on “Sometimes ‘Wasted’ is Not the Appropriate Word

Leave a Reply

