The Passing Train

Chapter 1 Good Morning

It was the usual sun breeze,
On a heavy traffic morning tease,
The ride back home is a sunset,
Greets, but most times doesn't.

Never have I imagined
That good mornings grinned,
Translates to the updates we allow
Say, "I'm on the train now."
Chapter 2 The Other Side

From hectic work meetings,
I now look forward to Monday mornings,
The possibilities are endless,
Until chances seemed room-less.

You travel to two stops away from me,
I get off a station farther from you,
But doesn't matter truely,
If I wake up late, too.

Excitement turned to what if daydreams
Bit looking forward to your good morning,
My last stop is where you take off, it seems
And yours is a station away from where I'm beginning.

And I can only imagine you sitting
From the other train passing,
In between tracks wondering,
If these trains look like two different worlds I'm missing.
Chapter 3 The Passing Train

And I realized again,
Nowhere this train would take me to you,
Unless I take a step and meet you
Where you're headed onto.

Unless you wait for me then,
At the end of my station rendezvous,
Unless we take the initiative to meet halfway, too
That's the only way we can see each other anew.

I guess this train can,
And will do lead me to you,
Other days, it will take you to me, too,
Most days, it's just a passing train through.

Where you talk to me on the phone,
Words and stories kept for my tone,
From the opposite side of these tracks,
Meet me again with purple lilacs.

-Jane Han Poo

Leave a comment